Within this box ….

I want to start making my packaging a bit more special. I used to be a graphic designer (hopefully it shows!) and I suppose that’s why I find the packaging just as interesting as the jewellery. I want my packaging to say that within this box lies a real treasure; I want it to be elegant and stylish with a touch of glitter and sparkle.

I’ve always loved the way things are packaged in old hollywood films – with lots of tissue paper and a box with a lid that comes off without untying the ribbon. With a film maker/geek for a husband (www.winterblood.com), I know that it’s done that way so it’s easy to do re-takes and also because some actors can’t talk and untie a ribbon at the same time; but it still looks elegant and luxurious to me.

I’ve designed small “certificate” cards to go with each piece of jewellery. They have a description of the piece, letting you know what it’s made up of, and a section at the top for a short personalised message. On the back, I try to include a wish or a quote – something that’s unique to each card and each individual piece of jewellery. I think that this gives the recipient a sense that their piece of jewellery is special and unique to them – not just something that has been mass-produced. It creates a good feeling even before the jewellery has been taken out of the box, and that’s all part of the packaging magic.

UPDATE:

As an update to this post, I’ve now started to decorate the plain gift boxes to compliment each unique item.  Each box will have ribbon or sparkles or charms (or all three!) to continue the storyline of the jewellery or just give a small hint of what you will find inside.  I’m not charging any extra for this – the box is as much part of the gift experience as the jewellery itself.

For a new pink piece I’ve created, the black box (made from recycled card/paper) has pink fabric ribbon threaded through a metal heart with clear glass sparkles.  I can add a name tag to the front too.  The box will be as unique as the jewellery and to me, that’s how it should be.

You can see a picture of the basic box and ribbon with certificate/information (it is usually only one card printed both sides but I’ve done it here as two single sided cards so you can see what both sides would look like).

http://www.gothglitz.co.uk/Delivery

Gift Box and Certificate for Blue Rose Filigree Pendant

Leave a Reply

